Bottled Water, Filtration, or RO?

Water splashing into glassDrinking plenty of water is important for the health of everyone in your family. Our bodily water percentage varies between 50% – 75%. Infants and children have the highest at around 70%. Women tend to average 50%. We must constantly replenish our body’s water supply. It’s especially important during the hot summer months when we perspire and lose water.

Our family drinks a lot of water since we don’t drink sodas, flavored juices, or other sugary drinks like Gatorade. The more water you drink, the more your body craves it. Nothing will quench my thirst like a cold, tall, glass of water.

So how do you get the most healthy, clean, great tasting water for your family? I’ve struggled with this for years. We started out with bottled water and since we live in L.A. we never drink our tap water.( Nasty stuff!) Then I learned that perhaps all the BPA and plastic waste from bottled water was making it a poor option. We also don’t really know the source of water manufacturers of bottled water use or their purification process since they aren’t required to disclose the results of its testing. To learn more about your water supply and tests on bottled water, visit EWG’s website. http://www.ewg.org/key-issues/water/bottled-water

So I researched water filters and went with PUR water filtration pitchers for our family’s drinking water. This is a good option since it removed chlorine, pharmaceuticals, heavy metals, and industrial pollutants. But it did not filter out fluoride that is added into our drinking water. After a lot of research I decided to get the fluoride out of our drinking water.

After a year or so of using the PUR filters, I decided to get a Reverse Osmosis (RO) water filtration system for our family’s drinking water. Reverse osmosis can remove many contaminants not removed by activated carbon filters alone, including arsenic, fluoride, hexavalent chromium, nitrates and perchlorate. RO systems that also have the carbon filters (like the one we purchased) remove chlorine, trihalomethanes or volatile organic chemicals (VOCs). RO water tastes the best, in my opinion. The fact that it filters out chloramines, fluoride, and all that other nasty stuff is the main reason we use a reverse osmosis system. Yes it strips the water of all minerals, but if your family does not get enough minerals through their diet or supplementation, you can add the minerals back into your water with a special filter on a RO system. And yes, it does waste water during the RO process. It takes approximately 2-3 gallons of water to produce one gallon of pure RO water. I still made this my choice of water filtration. The main reason was to get the fluoride out of our drinking water.

Click here to learn more about the research I did on fluoride: https://healingautismandadhd.wordpress.com/2012/09/25/fluoride-too-much-of-a-good-thing/

What is your preferred choice of filtering your drinking water? Bottled, tap filters, RO?

13 Responses

  1. We live in L. A. too (San Pedro) to be exact, and I completely agree about the tap water. We use the Clear2O filter and I cannot even drink tap water anymore regardless of where I am.I am totally spoiled by the filtered taste. I do not even want to know what all is in L.A. water!

  2. You can purchase a remineralizer to add those healthy minerals back in.

  3. you’re finally back!!! where have you been! I’ve been checking for new posts for months but to no avail. Remember me!! Are you still going to publish my article?

  4. I forgot to add my comment you asked for in the post, how I filter my water. I live in a college dormitory and the town’s water supply is terrible. The city my college is in has one of the highest rates of kidney stones in the state because the water is so bad. I work in a chemistry lab part time and there is a deionizer in there that purifies water for experiments. I usually take several gallons back to my dorm with me a week, and I always keep some in a bpa free reusable water bottle to take to class with me. So to all college students reading this, just ask a chemistry lab on campus for water, more likely than not, the dorm water has lots of harmful chemicals. I also lobbied the campus dining halls for non gmo meat, organic produce, and antibiotic free meat. Once I found out where all the food was produced (very highly processed and unhealthy). I used to just eat all my meals in my dorm which got very expensive and inconvenient. Remember, just because your school doesn’t have healthy food does not mean it will have to remain that way. Some other students are concerned for their health too, you can change your school together.The semester I helped change it, I lost five pounds! I am going to be a senior in the fall, but the freshman 15 was very hard to lose.

  5. What do you use as a pain reliever/ fever reducer? I can’t use Tylenol since my sulfur is low, and Motrin has artificial coloring -_- why can’t manufactures understand that there is absolutely no point in coloring a medicine, our gut doesn’t care if it looks pretty. Do you use something else, or get it without dyes, I haven’t had much luck finding either. Fevers can do neurological damage of they are too high, and being a woman, I do need something for that time of the month 🙂

  6. Thanks for posting this! I think your blog is one of the best out there!

  7. It is nice to see that some people actually care about their quality of water. It is hard to control bottled water industry, the transportation, the storage, etc. Eventually, hazards in plastic will leak into the water. We have created out company Sapphire Water in 2007, and let me tell you, nowadays more and more people are becoming aware and concerned about quality of the water. Once again Great Post!

  8. May I ask one question: do you still boil the water before drinking it after filtering with reverse osmosis?

  9. […] View the Original article […]

Leave a Reply

