Summer is over?! But it’s only mid-August!

I have had a crazy, busy, summer this year and have not found time to blog all summer long. I miss it. My kids go back to school next week on August 17th and that marks the official end of summer for them. Where did the time go? Well, mine and my son with autism’s time went to hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT). We had to get 40 sessions in this summer without taking breaks longer than 3 days. Our days have been spent in a big metal tube, watching DVDs (I read a book) and driving back and forth for an hour each way. I’ll blog about our experience next time.

Right now, I’m still trying to get my head around “back-to-school”. I have to confess. I’m in denial. We have not bought one iota of school supplies, clothes, backpacks…oh, the stress of doing this the day before school starts! See, we are cramming in the last of HBOT sessions this week and then leaving on a much needed family vacation to a mountain lake for 5 days of camping. It was that, or stay home and prepare for school by dragging some unhappy (whinny) boys from store to store. Nope! I opted to procrastinate.

You may wonder how my son with autism will feel about my lack of preparing him for the start of school. Well, we will find out on August 17th. Yes, sometimes parents of children with autism have to “wing it” and just see how their child adapts. I believe he needs to be exposed to the unexpected by not being front-loaded with information all the time. Sometimes going off the therapy curriculum is OK so your child can see that life isn’t always carefully planned out, prepped and non-stressful.  My son is very high functioning and he can deal with these unexpected things thrown at him most of the time, so it may not be for every child on the spectrum. I’m just putting it out there for all parents with kids on the spectrum to consider trying at least once in a while; especially if they’ve always controlled their child’s environment.

My summer can’t be over. It hasn’t really started yet, so I’m going to have to enjoy mine starting August 17th. Am I the only one out there that hasn’t had a “summer” yet?

4 Responses

  1. Hello, my son also starts on 17th I will tell you we have already been to the school fighting for him to get a personal aid this year. He didn’t do well last year and we feel that he might do better with a personal aid. The teacher said it was because of medication changes and lack of focus. I don’t know how else to make him focus if there is any kind of supplement that would help him I would love for him to take that. Anything to help with anxiety, restlessness, and focus I’m trying to help him anyway that I can I just hope things go better this year. If you have any suggestions I would love to hear them.

    • Hi there. That’s great that you are championing for your son at school! Keep up the fight. I’m not sure how much of my blog you have read, but I have a lot of information on the issues you mentioned. Anxiety, restlessness, and lack of focus can be caused by a variety of issues. Just to name a few: yeast, bad bacteria, phenols, lack of B12, toxins, etc. What are you doing for him biomedically or with meds right now? If you click on any topic under my categories (on the right side of page) you’ll find various topics for ADHD/Autism/Diet/Supplements. Or under my pages categories I have more info too.

      I have had success with GABA, Taurine, and Magnesium for anxiety/restlessness. Pycnogenol, Acetyl L-Carnitine, B12 for focus. The biggest thing that helps these issues is finding the root cause of them. If you are already not working with a DAN doctor, I would suggest that. If you can’t find one or afford one, then start with his diet, and treating his gut. Add in probiotics (then are a must!). Again, not sure what you have done already. I hope this helps, let me know.
      Joanne

      • Right know he is on risperdal three times a day and fixing to start taking a med called trileptal. Probiotics is something that he is going to start taking also. In in the process of getting them online. He is currently on the GFCF diet for the most part. I will look into getting the other supplements to see if it helps I have read through some of your blog I really like it a lot. I swear I would have never found you on my own. The way I found you was I was listening to Autism Miracles podcast. You both have given me so much hope when it comes to my son.

      • I’m so glad to hear you found my blog on Everyday Autism MIracles Podcasts and that we’ve given you hope for your son! I’m not experienced with prescription meds, only what I’ve read about them. Risperdal is an antipsychotic med for adult schizophrenia and is pretty powerful, along with side affects, especially for children under 5. I have heard of people being able to wean their child off the meds through biomedical interventions; if that is your goal. Is he taking both prescription meds for autistic behaviors? Have you researched these drugs at length yet? I always find it prudent to get a second opinion as well as research what doctors recommend on my own. Are you working with a DAN doctor or a psychiatrist?

        I wish you well in your journey to help your son. Keep up the faith, and never give up hope. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

