Probiotics: The Immunity Idol

(Blog 1 of 2 on probiotics)

I may not be stranded on a deserted island and vying for immunity so as not to get voted off; but sometimes my life feels like Survivor.  I’m trying my level best to keep my sons’ and my own immune system strong to fight off the assaults from nature and mankind. Flu viruses, pesticides, toxins, cancer, you name it, our immune system is our front line of defense. It really needs all the help it can get.  And my first choice to boost my family’s immune system is a good probiotic.

Probiotics are bacteria that are beneficial to a person’s health, either through protecting the body against pathogenic bacteria or assisting in recovery from an illness.  Did you know that about 70% of our immune system lies within the intestinal tract and digestive organs (aka: the gut)? That makes our gut the largest immune system within our body. If your gut isn’t healthy, then your immune system may be compromised.  And you know what that can mean…illness, disease, and a overall feeling of “blah”.

Just as most everything in nature is balanced, our gut needs to maintain a healthy balance to keep it functioning properly. We have good bacteria in the lining of the gut to help keep the bad bacteria in check.

Think of it as the Heroes vs. the Villains on the TV show, Survivor.  The Heroes are probiotics (good bacteria) and battle to win immunity over the Villains (bad bacteria).  If the Heroes get wiped out by say, the “antibiotic challenge”, well then the Villains will now be able to set up their camp where the Heroes once lived, and overtake the entire island (gut).  This scenario not only leaves your immune system vulnerable in defending your body against all sorts of pathogens;  it also creates digestive problems, diarrhea or constipation.

Simply taking a daily probiotic can help improve your gut health while keeping your immune system strong.  I think of probiotics as the hidden immunity idol.  It’s our secret weapon that helps us avoid “tribal council” of the gut.  Survivors ready? I believe we are.

12 Responses

  1. My daughter is now recovered from autism due to diet and probiotics. We started the GF/CF diet and saw remarkable improvements, but it wasn’t until we removed all sugars and added coconut kefir that she fully recovered. We had tried numerous probiotic capsules which didn’t do much and then a doctor told us about coconut kefir, which is a live, fermented drink. The results were amazing! I would encourage anyone with an autistic child to try this diet and start making or buy coconut kefir. If you buy it, make sure it has no added sugars which would just feed the yeast.

  2. Hi, I am eager to try coconut kefir for my son but I live in Adelaide, Australia and am finding it difficult to locate. Is there one that is dairy and sugar free? Aslo, could I purchase this over the net? If not does anyone know who the supplier is for coconut kefir?

    • I’m pretty sure you might be able to find it on the internet. I’ve never used it or looked where to purchase some, sorry I’m not of any help with this.

    • Hi Sarah,

      I too live in Adelaide and have just heard about coconut kefir. Did you get hold of any? If so, are you able to give me the details. I have a son with Autism and am hoping to try this. Thank you so much.

      Vilma

      • After hearing so many wonderful things about Coconut Kefir, I decided to look into it. I found that Whole Foods (a natural foods grocery chain in U.S. & Great Britain)sell a brand of it and it is wonderful. So Delicious makes it and has changed their name of it from Coconut Kefir to Cultured Coconut Milk. My husband and I also drink it and it gives us energy, and a feeling of good health, so we know it’s helping our son. You can purchase it online at Body Ecology’s website, but it’s expensive. Their brand is called Cocobiotic. They also sell a starter for making it yourself and provide detailed instructions on how to do it. The key is to get your hands on young, green coconuts. Here is Body Ecology’s website:
        http://www.bodyecology.com/coconutkefir.php

  3. Hi Vilma,
    I struggled to find coconut kefir within Adelaide. There are several sites on the net that explain how to make it. We am seeing a DAN doctor and currently are following his guidance. Our DAN doctor is working on other areas for my son. I hope you have better luck than me in finding coconut kefir! Please let me know ifyou do find it?

  4. We drink CocoKefir young coconut kefir – made in Minnesota I think. They sell on their website, http://www.cocokefir.com and it is supposed to be in stores across the U.S. soon. It tastes really good. It helped our son (on the spectrum) and I’ve lost a lot of weight. We really like this stuff.

  5. Hi
    When i give my son cocokefir do i need to stop giving him probiotic?

  6. Hi, my 4 year old son (has autism) use to have akzema before he was dignosed and before we started GFCF diet. His akzema got better when used Homeopathy remedies by a homeopathist along with GFCF diet . Then I started to give him probiotics, and when he developed akzema again I stopped for a while. Then, for the last 2 weeks I gave him probiotics (diffrent brand) again and he developrd redness around his mouth and akzema behind his kness and on his thies. I have read by some parents that this akzema is a healing reaction to yeast, not sure is this healing or something wrong? When I don’t give him the probiotics for one day, the redness lessen, that is how I know it is a reaction from probiotics. DAN doctors are not available where I live.
    Thank you so much for your help

    • Our skin is the largest organ our bodies have and most detox shows up on our skin as a rash, eczema, pimples, spots. Probiotics will cause a die-off reaction of yeast (detox) and that may be what is happening. It’s a positive negative reaction. May need to try a good probiotic strain and try it for longer. Have you tried Epsom Salt baths to help in the body clearing out of toxins? read my post on it here: https://healingautismandadhd.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/epsom-salts-old-wives-tale-or-medical-fact/

      • Thank you so much for replying. I was very confused and overwhelmed by what was happening to my son and not sure what to do. I’ve heard about Epsom salt but couldn’t find it in stores. I live in the middle east and DNA doctors not available and resources and every thing in general is behind when it comes to treating autism so I really appreciate your help.

Leave a Reply

