Apples, Bananas and Grapes, Oh My!

One of my favorite childhood movies was The Wizard of Oz. It’s funny how my life has traveled down a path that feels like the yellow brick road. Searching for the Emerald City, all the while dodging flying monkeys, evading a wicked witch and meeting a talking scarecrow. It seems a lot like our biomedical journey through autism.  And what was in that picnic basket Dorothy carried with her? My son would have filled it with apples.

Apples, applesauce, apple juice. Not that long ago, that was about the only fruit my son with autism would eat. Oh, and a banana every now and again. Orange juice is OK now. He LOVES grape juice and will eat an occasional grape. The problem is, these fruits are highly phenolic in nature. Makes him react like a hyperactive chipmunk on catnip!

My older son will eat any fruit he can get his hands on, but does not react to phenols like my youngest. Not fair, I say. So I let my son with autism eat apples, bananas and grapes now. He takes a digestive enzyme to help him process it, called No-Phenol. I also give him Epsom salt baths each night to help his body detox the phenols.

Ketchup, pasta sauce, pizza sauce. All phenolic and make him a crazed energizer bunny! But he sure does love those tomato based foods. So every time his meal has anything tomato based in it, he gets a No-Phenol enzyme. And all is good in the Allor house.

We just went camping for five days. It was beautiful, fun-filled and great to be in the mountains. The only problem was I couldn’t give my son with autism his nightly Epsom salt bath.  Without the baths, his emotion regulation gets  a bit crazy and he gets weepy on me over the little things. I did bring our Epsom salts along and decided to soak his feet in a small tub before bed. That helps in a pinch. It’s not the same as a full body soak for 15 minutes, but it definitely helps his body detox.

That yellow-brick road seems never-ending. We haven’t found the Emerald City yet so we can ask the Wizard just how to completely heal our son’s biochemical pathways. I’ll keep you posted on what I learn in my continued research. In the meantime, we’ll rely on No-Phenol and Epsom salts. One day, we’ll find our way home, and out of the land of Oz.

Related posts on phenols, epsom salts and the PST pathway:

http://healingautismandadhd.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/epsom-salts-old-wives-tale-or-medical-fact/

http://healingautismandadhd.wordpress.com/diet-2/phenolssalicylates/

http://healingautismandadhd.wordpress.com/diet-2/feingold/

4 Responses

  1. You are an AMAZING mom! Jack is so blessed. He may never fully understand all this work you are doing for him….but I see it and it is truly beautiful. I’m off to get me some vinegar from your last post! Oh and I got cheap and went off my good vitamins, really felt a difference so now I’m trying to ease back on to them (they make me nauseous at first!). Keep up the tremendous work! God bless you!

  2. I thought it was just me until I started looking at the web for info on applease and grapes. Just this weekend my son ate a ton of grapes (he will eat a whole costco container by himself) and he was almost uncontrollable. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Thanks for the information. Together we will make it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 511 other followers

